Home page

CycleCity Guides

CycleCity Mapping Services

Wallbridge Mill



Contact details

Tyneside Cycling Map

Price: FREE

Date: 2002

Area: Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside, Gateshead

Available from Newcastle City Council, Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council, and South and North Tyneside Councils.


The second edition of the CycleCity Tyneside Cycling Map has been sponsored by the four local councils and the map, which was £4.95 is now free! It adjoins the Blthy Valley and Wansbeck Cycling Map to the north.

Updated and now using an A-Z map base, the map covers an area of 18km x 16km area from Blaydon to Tynemouth and from Whitley Bay to the Sunderland border. The map shows the popular C2C, and the Reivers Cycle Route, the "return C2C". Other national routes going south and east are also shown.

The map follows the CycleCity format with all streets shown in the urban areas of Gateshead, Newcastle, South Shields and North Tyneside. Routes, including a large number of traffic-free paths on the region's former mineral railway lines, were suggested by members of Tynebikes, the local cycling campaign. A city centre panel highlights the centre of Newcastle and the central bridges across the Tyne to Gateshead, including the new Millennium Bridge for cyclists and walkers. The Tyne ferry and Tyne tunnels are clearly shown, linking to the local cycle networks.